Say my name!

So, basically, I don’t exist in the blogging world during the week. I’m too lazy, too busy, and too annoyed with school to update my blog (mostly lazy). And the weekend is way too short for me to recuperate from this prison called high school. Junior year sucks. I’ve had a C on every report card so far. I will never get into Harvard now…LOL

I just realized what a burden my name has become for me. 4 letters, 2 syllables. It’s the simplified version of my full name, but people still have a hard time pronouncing it – which is fine, if I’ve just met you. It’s definitely not OK if I tell you how to pronounce every other day for weeks on end. I used to not like my name. I wanted a simple name that I didn’t have to repeat 8 times for a person to get it. I wanted a name that people didn’t ask me how to say my full name (this annoys the hell out of me). But gradually, I came to like my name. It’s unique and pretty darn awesome tbh. While I like my name and all, it’s become ridiculous that I have to repeat it multiple times, in a span of weeks, and sometimes months for some people to pronounce it right. IT’S NOT EVEN THAT HARD TO PRONOUNCE.

I still have teachers who have not gotten my name, no matter how many times I sound it out for them. School started in August, mind you. At this point, I don’t even bother correcting them. I will never be able to work as a waitress because my customers will never remember my name. My bosses will never pronounce it right. Maybe it won’t even have anything to do with pronunciation. Maybe they’ll just call me a completely different name altogether. And maybe (cue tears)…maybe they’ll just say, “hey, you.” My name is basically the only interesting thing about my nondescript self and some people will just never get it.

It makes me very sad.

/sad lyfe

4 comments
  1. Zipo said:

    You wouldn’t happen to be East Indian or possibly Cambodian would you?

    I know some awesome names with only 4 letters and 2 syllables.
    A rose by any other name is still a rose!

    We think too small, like the frog at the bottom of the well. He thinks the sky is only as big as the top of the well. If he surfaced, he would have an entirely different view.

    Kiss a frog! xd!

    I do so enjoy your posts and the music is a perk!

    • AA said:

      No, I’m not East Indian or Cambodian, but I do hail from the Eastern hemisphere w00t!

      I haven’t encountered many frogs in my lifetime. One of these days, I shall go frog hunting (errr, not in that sense trololol)

      Merci beaucoup! I might update the playlist soon (in other words, weeks from now XD)

  2. Zipo said:

    Well by process of elimination, I am pretty sure I got a handle
    on your culture. It is like a taste of honey! hahaha SHA-weet

    Lot of names are Biblical in origin. Extremely rare and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

