Let’s fly, let’s fly away

“A lot of parents will do anything for their children, except let them be themselves.”

I honestly strongly dislike my parents most of the time. I know it’s horrible of me to say, but it’s true. My parents are irrational, unreasonable, quick to judge, and so many other things I could sit here and list for hours. I don’t like this house. I don’t like this city. I don’t like this state. I just want to get out of here. It’s become almost oppressive lately. My parents tell me I have an attitude. Okay. It’s hard not to have an attitude when my parents think they know everything and never want to listen to me. They don’t want to understand. They only want to see it their way.

It’s hard to be myself here. My parents still hold on to many of their old ways, despite living in American for so long. Growing up in America, I’m obviously going to see things very differently from them. I don’t know when they’re going to realize that high school is not the same as it was back in their country God knows how many years ago. Anytime I try to broach some topics with my parents, I just end up feeling extremely angry and more bitter after the whole thing is over. I love my parents, but I don’t want to be anything like them. I can’t stand my mother as a person sometimes. While I have a ‘better understanding’ with my father, he can be so…I don’t even know. I feel like slamming my head against a wall when I ‘talk’ to them most of the time. Because of that, I mostly try to avoid talking to them. I’m grateful for what they do for me and I know they’re not perfect, but that’s not going to change my feelings about them.

I guess this should be my motivation to do better in school. So I can hightail it from this place to a college many, many miles away. The last thing I want to do is go to college in Texas. I mean, hell, I don’t even care about college that much, but if it means taking me away from here, then I’ll be like those college crazy kids in my school. I’m unhappy here, and I don’t think my state of happiness will be changing anytime soon.

Anyway, this post is probably full of a lot of errors, but I don’t care because I have a wonderful 400+ page book to read before tomorrow that I’ve been putting off for weeks now! Exciting!

6 comments
  1. Zipo said:

    I’d say you are about average in attitude. :) Stay away from guns though. hahaha Just jkn’ with ya.

    Well I know many a family like yours, a mix of the old world and new. Yes, you are normal in your thinking. I have this friend Aadila, absolutley stunning! She goes through fits of anger to depression sometimes due to parents. Parents barely speak broken english, but they seem to survive within their community. Met Aadila when she was in 2nd grade. Her house smelled of curry. I loved it! She is rather distant sometimes, but I learn so much from her. Your parents sound much like hers. You will survive…. it builds character. You sound like a very very strong person. Mothers and daughters always butt heads. It is a given.

    I’ve been to Texas, many a time. It is dry… hot … and full of twang speaking ppl. hahaha God, don’t start twanging!!! Just remember, the grass is always greener…. somewhere else. And it ain’t Kansas either. hahahahahaaa Never been there but Dorothy was and Todo too! hahah God I’m so frickn” witty today.

    No class this a.m. , but I am not going to read no stinkn’ 400 page book either! I think how fun it would be of some of us blogger would live in the same hood. Now that would be scary!

    • AA said:

      Oui, le old school parents and le new school children…somewhat disastrous ha! Yeah, I’ll survive. Muchas gracias :)

      Lol, twang speaking people. I live in the “city”. Very few people have strong Texas accents where I live. I’d like to think I don’t have one, but I know I probably do. Just a tiny bit though.

      Hood of…slackers? Lol, you don’t seem like much of a slacker to me though!

  2. Zipo said:

    Put some Ozzy on and go bark at the moon! XD!

    Well you can how my morning is going… ;)

  3. Zipo said:

    hhhhhhaaaa…. I see the Ozzman in in moderation up there. Well he is a bit of darkness this early.

    I meant…. *Well you can SEE how my morning is going”

    I better keep moving… before I take root.

  4. Zipo said:

    Checking back in….

    Let’s review the day…

    I spent time on friends (LOL>>>NOT) blogs, other than yours…. waging a war.

    There is this little impudent piece of snot. God help me Jesus…
    I spent way too much time on him, but he is worthy, as we go back so many years. Somehow he became a huge “turd” ahahahaha….

    I was being polite.

    How was your day?

    • AA said:

      Blog wars? Sounds serious! If I recall correctly, Monday was a rather somewhat not really kind of pleasant day :)

Leave a Reply

