College, take me away!

I’m ready to go to college. High school and home life is so constricting. My mom seriously just told me she would “seize” my laptop because all I do is stay on it “all day long” and I don’t “socialize” with the family. Well, seeing as how most of the people in my family annoy the hell out of me, and I don’t like them half of the time, I’m not exactly going to want to “socialize” with them. I don’t know if she’s noticed, but I’ve actually been spending a lot less time on my laptop. Sometimes I stay after school and come home and start on my homework. Most of the time, I’m doing homework. My mom is so annoying to the point where I want to punch her in the face every time she opens her mouth.

I don’t know why she’s suddenly so interested about what I do on the computer now. We used to have this problem a lot a couple years ago. She was always convinced I was doing something bad on the computer. Newsflash, mother: I’m almost 18. I’ll be going off to college soon enough and I don’t need you telling me what I should be doing on my laptop.

My parents don’t seem to realize that I am not a freaking child. I don’t need them to tell me to eat every 5 seconds. I don’t need them trying to spoon feed me. I hate being coddled. If I’m hungry, I’ll find something to eat, damn it! I’ve reached my boiling point with this. My parents think I’m borderline anorexic or something. I’m actually pretty healthy and even though I’m skinny, I’m not sickly. I think I’ll lose it if they tell me “you need to eat more” one more time.

That’s what I hate about being the youngest. My parents will still see me as a baby, despite the fact that I’m almost 18. I know being 18 isn’t much, but it’s sure as hell as different as being 10. I know college won’t be a walk in the park, but I’ll have more freedom. I’ll have the freedom that I crave. I don’t have any freedom here. I can’t do this, I can’t do that. I’m at home when I’m not in school. I have no license, no mode of transportation, nothing. I’m trying to get a job, but what the hell does she expect me to do other than stay on my laptop? All I really even do on this laptop is read and watch videos and tv shows and go on forums every now and then. I’ll admit, some of the things I do on the computer aren’t really appropriate (in a parents’ eyes anyway), but I’m not 10 years old. I don’t need my mother poking her nose in everything and being suspicious of everything I do.

I’d like to go to college out of state. As far away from Texas as possible. But seeing as how out of state colleges (and colleges, period) are damn expensive, that’s a pretty impossible goal. I’m not smart enough to get a scholarship to some really nice college either. Woe is me. I want to put as many miles between me and this city. I know my parents will want me in Texas, but I don’t want to be here! I’m so ready for college.

Leave a Reply

