Aaaaayyyyyyyyyyy

I am officially on summer break, which means:

  • my handwriting will die a slow, painful death (and be resurrected in the fall looking rather grotesque)
  • I need a job
  • I will get my license
  • this is my last summer before my last year of high school.

It’s really strange to think about how I’m going to be a senior. I don’t feel like I’m about to be one. I definitely don’t feel like I’ll be turning 18 in a few months either. Growing up sucks. ಠ_ಠ

I took my SAT May 5 and the scores came back today. I got a 1710, which isn’t bad, but I was hoping for something better. I’m actually pretty disappointed. The practice SAT I took in SAT Prep, which I got an 1850 on, made me get my hopes up too much. I’ll be taking it again June 2, so maybe I’ll get a better score. Whatever. I guess this means I won’t be able to get into Harvard now. Hohoho.

Now this brings up the talk of college. I don’t know where I want to go, what I want to major in, nada. All I know is that I want to go out of state and I want the college to be in an urban setting. I don’t want to be anywhere close to my parents. Texas holds no appeal for me. At all. Going out of state is expensive, so I don’t know. My grades aren’t spectacular  (as in straight As) and I’m not worthy of being in the top 10%. I don’t have any achievements to my name. I don’t do many extracurricular activities, nor have I ever done anything substantial for my school or community. In other words, I have done nyet during my time in high school. Woooo.

I also don’t want to feel like I need to do these things for the sake of college applications and transcripts. I want to do these things for my well being and I want to genuinely care about whatever I’d be doing. After seeing my SAT score, I immediately started to think of things I could do to make my college app look good. I ashamed to admit it. I’m glad I woke up a little and realized that I shouldn’t be thinking that way.

So yeah, it’s summer. I exempted all my finals which is why I’m done with school now instead of next Wednesday. I got my laptop battery and ac adapter replaced, at last! After I turned in my school laptop and charger, I ordered them through Amazon and they came in on Sunday. Feels pretty darn good to have a battery that works again and a laptop that doesn’t die after 5 mins when it’s not plugged in.

I remember last summer I told myself that I would have a productive summer (hilarious). It wasn’t, but still somewhat better than my past summer. My job search failed too. Now it’s summer again and I don’t want to make any promises I know I won’t be able to keep. All I’d like to do this summer is sleep, eat, find a job, make money, get my license, watch/re-watch movies and tv shows, and relax.

I also realize that I haven’t blogged in two months lol. Hopefully that will change now that it’s summer. Happy Thursday!

4 comments
  1. Annie said:

    Hahahah awesome, the day I randomly check out old blogs for the first time in months, you post a new post :D
    Anyway, hi AA!!!!! Long time no talk!!
    I toootally know how you feel about college/future/stuff like that!! I have absolutely no idea what I want to do, or even like. As I get older I kind of realise I don’t like anything….or anyone…… heh

    • AA said:

      Annie, hey! It’s good to see you :) I totally agree about getting older and not liking anything or anyone. That’s definitely how I’m feeling at the moment.

  2. Josh said:

    It’s nice to see you again! (:

    Woohoo, hooray for being free for a few months! Hahahaha trust me, you’re not the only one whose handwriting dies over the Summer break.

    Mmmmm yeah I do agree with you regarding doing extra things not for your college application but because you care. (:

    Looking forward to reading more from you!

    • AA said:

      It’s nice to see you too :D I realize this comment is about two months old, so I apologize for that.

Leave a Reply

